Skip to main content
Photo Credit: The Economic Club of Washington, D.C./Joshua Roberts

Hon. Jerome Powell

Chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System | February 07, 2023

David Rubenstein interviewed The Honorable Jerome H. Powell, Chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Jerome Powell took office as Chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in February 2018 for a four-year term. He was reappointed to the office and sworn in for a second four-year term on May 23, 2022. He has served as a member of the Board of Governors since 2012, and was reappointed for a 14-year term in 2014. He also serves as Chairman of the Federal Open Market Committee, the System's principal monetary policymaking body.

Prior to his appointment to the Board, Mr. Powell was a visiting scholar at the Bipartisan Policy Center in Washington, D.C., where he focused on federal and state fiscal issues. From 1997 through 2005, Mr. Powell was a partner at The Carlyle Group. Mr. Powell served as an Assistant Secretary and as Under Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Treasury under President George H.W. Bush, with responsibility for policy on financial institutions, the Treasury debt market, and related areas. Prior to joining the Bush administration, Mr. Powell worked as a lawyer and investment banker in New York City.

In addition to service on corporate boards, he has served on the boards of charitable and educational institutions, including the Bendheim Center for Finance at Princeton University and the Nature Conservancy of Washington, D.C. and Maryland.

Mr. Powell received an AB in politics from Princeton University in 1975 and earned a law degree from Georgetown University in 1979. While at Georgetown, he was editor-in-chief of the Georgetown Law Journal.